My Art Has A Meaning: Contest Enrty – Remember What You Fight For

remember_what_you_fight_for_by_meok-d4asq1d

Title: “Contest Entry – Remember What You Fight For”
Medium: Digital Painting/ Collage
School of Art: Fantasy
Original Size: 24″x 12″
Creation Date: 2011

This also came with a description written when it was submitted for review for the “Gears of War 3 Contest” hosted by DeviantArt.com in 2011.

Original Description:
This piece was not my first thought. In fact, I had a completely different piece being processed in my mind. I must have spent about a week trying to wrap my mind around this game versus the project. I’ll be brutally honest…I am prone to nightmares, especially after Zachary died. Starting this piece with sketches and retaining knowledge about this game, I started seeing my night terrors before they happened. I decided this needed to be done and quickly.

I read about Maria and Dom’s story instead of picking up or prodding my husband to play Gears Of War since shooting games, blood and gore, amplify my nightmares. I related to their depression after losing their children after E-Day and wanted to depict something I know all too well…suffering and the near comfort of looming death. It’s nearly been a year and a half since my little boy passed, my body has been beaten and I am eternally tired. I tried to emphasize those thoughts when I painted Maria. A tranquil blue light signifies a memory and the hopeful presence of peace. Dominic’s tattoo prompted me to look up the significance. I put him in the middle of the two worlds. Mourning the loss of his wife and children, and pressing on to win the war.

The title, “Remember What You Fight For” should be self-explanatory.

This piece, aside from prep time, took 48 hours to complete.

 

Categories: Art Portfolio | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.