My Art Has A Meaning: Sleepwalker

sleepwalker

Title: “Sleepwalker”
Medium: Digital Painting/ Collage
School of Art: Fantasy
Original Size: 8″x8″
Creation Date: 2009

This has an original statement but before I share it, I’d like to add that I was a sleepwalker at one point in my life. My father does it too but he’s a terror to be around while he’s doing it. Some are violent and stressful episodes chasing my brother into the bathroom or pinning your feet like a wild animal while you were asleep in your own room and others are confused moments where he would talk about losing fingers or making sure his biking shorts weren’t too small, (they’re always going to be too small Dad). My father’s sleep walking episodes far exceed my own. Mine stopped after a sleep over at my cousins house while she still lived near us but this digital painting was done in response to how we can move without knowing it.

Original Description:
Sometimes the most destructive things are astonishingly beautiful. I used a limited pallet for this making sure I used the photograph to its fullest potential. The movement in the clouds effect her dress and the movement of her body, as though she was a puppet to her slumber. The tightness in the torso embodies the completeness of the storm. The powerful spin seems effortless as she is unharmed, unshaken from the destruction.

Categories: Art Portfolio | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.